Meta has just announced that it will deploy end-to-end encryption (E2E) for all personal chats and calls on Messenger and Facebook.
According to Neowin, end-to-end encryption is a feature that has been available on both Messenger and Facebook for some time, but it is now enabled by default for all chats and personal calls. Essentially, the messages a user sends will be protected from the moment they leave the device until the moment they reach the device of the contact on the other side, preventing any intermediaries (including Meta) from seeing what they communicate.
Previously, when messaging apps had or added end-to-end encryption, user experience with features could be limited. However, Meta said that with this implementation, users will receive familiar features such as themes and custom reactions, while also being provided with a series of other new features such as message editing. , disappearing messages, read receipt control, improved sending of photos and videos… Voice messaging has also been improved.
With the ability to edit messages, users can do this within 15 minutes of them being sent. Meta also provides the ability to view message edit history. As for disappearing messages, they will remain for 24 hours after sending and the chat interface has been updated to notify users that the message will disappear.
As for controlling read receipts, users can decide whether they want to let others know that they have read their messages or not. This will reduce the pressure to respond to people immediately if you don’t like it.
When receiving the new update, users also benefit from higher image quality and the ability to respond to any photo or video in the gallery. Meta says it is also testing HD media and file-sharing improvements with some users and plans to scale this up in the coming months.
Finally, Meta says voice messaging is the fastest-growing messaging format today. With this update, users can listen at 1.5x and 2x speed as well as start listening where they left off so they can continue listening if they have to leave the app.
The rollout will take several months until everyone receives them. Once the update is rolled out, users will need to set up a recovery method to recover their messages if they are lost, changed, or added to a new device.