tips to protect your privacy on iPhone

by homesense
0 comment

every year apple works hard to protect the privacy of its users either through keynotes or updates to its operating system. in this article, we will share with you some tips to help you protect your privacy on iPhone

know when an app has access to the clipboard, microphone, or camera

When information has been copied on a smartphone, it stores it in a clipboard. and this information can be confidential, but some apps access this information without the permission of the user

Free VPN trial – protect yourself online!

But fortunately, apple made a privacy update on ios 14, which pops up a notification when the app accesses the clipboard. This notification warns users not to double-check that no vital data is being collected and eliminates the fear of data extraction without consent. In addition to clipboard notifications, iOS 14 also warns users when apps have access to their camera or microphone. When in use, an orange status indicator appears at the top of the screen, indicating that the app has access to its microphone. A green status indicator shows that the app has access to its camera.

Read the App Store privacy labels.

The App Store data protection label, leading innovation in early 2021, lets everyone know about apps’ data fetched. The labels are roughly similar to the nutrition labels on food, except that they inform consumers of the risks to their privacy.

Divided into two categories, “Data used for tracking” and “Personal data,” the label appears on the App Store page of each app.

Sign in with Apple

Since the release of ios 13, Apple users can use the sign-in with apple to connect to a site. This allows users to connect to a website using their apple id. Instead of using your iCloud sign-in address, you can hide it from Apple and use a unique alternative address. Automatically saved passwords are also generated, which are also unique, to help improve your passwords.

iCloud Keychain has been present in iOS for years, and functionality has been added to it again and again during updates

Hide your IP address

If a Safari user is browsing Google, the main browser uses a database of risky websites provided by Google. However, when Safari checks this known list, it is forced to provide Mountain View with information about the user, starting with their IP address.

Since iOS 14.5 in the spring Safari will now store it on Apple’s servers. This makes relationships with Alphabet subsidiaries, which no longer have access to your IP address, much more limited.

Leverage Safari’s privacy report

Apple Safari has provided data protection reports to offer the most transparent navigation. This way, while browsing, Safari can notify you about website trackers that Safari has blocked. This will give you a very detailed look at the websites that have tried to establish your profile over the last 30 days.

To access this privacy report:

  1. Open a page from Safari.
  2. Click the accessibility shortcut denoted by “aA” in the upper-left corner of the screen.
  3. Tap Privacy Report at the bottom of the pop-up window.

Use a private address on WiFi.

On iPhone, When you connect to a WiFi network, the operator in charge of this network will retrieve information about the iPhone and will thus be able to locate it, follow its activity, and recover specific connection data.

However, you are free to disable it. Go to your iPhone settings and then the WiFi menu to find it. Touch the blue I for the WiFi you are connected to. Then enable or disable the Private Address option according to your needs.

Hide your exact Location

Since the release of iOS 14, it is possible to only share your approximate Location with apps or share Location with apps only when you are using it allowed an app not to access your Location. Later you want to give it access. To do that, you have to open Settings, then scroll down to the app of your choice. Tap on it, then select Location. Then turn off the Precise Location option.

Only allow access of an application to specific photos.

When you launch an application for the first time, on IOS 14 or later, it will ask you if you allow it to access your photos and videos. You can then authorize access or offer only a selection

If you did not make this selection when you launched the app for the first time, you are free to do so in the settings afterward. Choose the app you want there, then tap Photos. Then check the option Selected photos, and choose from your photos and videos. 

Related Posts

Leave a Reply